Mynx Julep

Photo borrowed from http://www.flickr.com/photos/reeselloyd/

Housesitting this week, and the warm weather this afternoon inspired me to make a little “Front Porch Feast” of jambalaya and mint juleps.

The jambalaya was decent– it was a quickie recipe. But this post isn’t about the food anyway. It’s about the mint julep. Or rather, Mynx Julep.

I didn’t have any powdered sugar, so I opted for Agave nectar for the mint muddle instead. Sweet but not too sweet, and yummy.

Mynx Julep
Tall ass glass
4-6 fresh mint leaves
Agave nectar
Bourbon whiskey
Teeny little bit of still water (optional)
Soda water (optional)
Whole lot of ice (preferably crushed, or cubed if you’re lazy)

Muddle the mint leaves with a tablespoon or so of agave nectar in the glass. Add a little water if it’s getting too sticky-sweet. Pour in the bourbon. I think most recipes call for about 2-1/2 oz. worth, but I got distracted and ended up filling up about a quarter of the glass. (Did I mention I’m a lush?) Plop in the ice, and shake or stir. Add a little soda water if it’s tasting a little too strong.

Enjoy.

P.S. If you’re going to be doing any cooking, especially if it involves chopping anything, you may want to get started on that before drinking. These babies can be pretty strong.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.