mynxangria

Way back before I joined the San FranFreakshow, I used to throw “fairie” parties where I’d force my friends to dress like woodland/fairie-type creatures and serve up concoctions involving edible flowers and whispers of fine dust glitter. I experimented with things like squab with mole sauce and rose petals, Casadinho de Camarao (“married shrimp”, a Brazilian dish) with a twist, lavender chicken, etc…

But the real fun was in making party drinks.

This particular version was a huge hit! Highly requested in various social circles.

The big trick is in the quality of ingredients. You don’t have to splurge on top-shelf stuff, but make sure you use flavorful liquors and fresh, juicy fruits.

You can make as much or as little as you want. All measurements are relative.

mynxangria
4 parts red wine (I use milder wines, like Dante’s Merlot)
4 parts lemonade (I use Newman’s Own Virgin Lemonade)
1 part Cointreau (MUST be Cointreau, or better)
1 part brandy (I generally used flavored brandy, like cherry or something)
Lots of ice
1 orange, 1 lime, some berries (raspberries, blackberries, etc.)
Edible flowers and/or mint leaves for garnish

Pour everything into a large container (pitcher, bowl, bathtub) and stir. Float the flowers/mint leaves on top. Use a ladle to serve. Drink. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.